Gameday! Habs vs. Hurricanes


Wednesday November 16, 2011

Montreal Canadiens vs. Carolina Hurricanes

Here I am, manning the sound board at the local cafe. (Note the Habs hat)

First off…my apologies for being distant in the last couple weeks.  My home town is having their annual River Arts Festival, in which I have been performing, doing sound and enjoying some wonderful musical acts.  Needless to say, the long nights (on top of my busy day job as a home theatre designer) have not left me much time for blogging.

In a Frantic Fast Forward Frenzy of game watching on my PVR, the Habs have left me with a feeling of…meh…

Injuries?  Tons.  Defensive breakdowns?  Not as many as the start of the year, but still there.  Solid goaltending?  Price is the man.  Plekanec still on the point on the powerplay?  -sigh

Something needs to happen.  This team needs a boost and they aren’t getting it from the three guys they should be.  Captain Gionta?  Gutless Gomez?  Mr. Glass Cammalleri?  YOU GUYS NEED TO STEP UP NOW!!!!!!

And now…tonights game.

Still makes my blood boil.

Anyone else still stewing about Saku Koivu getting Justin Williams’ uncalled, stick in the eye, effectively ending the Habs playoff run a few years back?  I am.  Even though both of those players have moved on to other teams, I am left with a bad taste in my mouth anytime the Hurricanes are mentioned.  To add insult to injury, (literally) the Habs are STILL without Andrei Markov.  How was he injured?  An awkward, and I still say questionable, hit by Hurricanes’ captain, Erik Stall.

Sure we stole one of their better players in Erik Cole, and it looks like he’s finally rounding into shape, but I still want retribution.  I want blood!

Hopefully someone on this Habs team will play with this same sort of passion.  This can be a statement game for the Habs.  Or it could just be another ‘meh’ feeling in hearts of Habs nation.

Who’s out?

Montreal

  • Andrei Markov (still recovering from knee surgery)
  • Andrei Kostitsyn (day to day)
  • Mike Cammalleri
  • Hal Gill
  • Jaroslav Spacek
  • Ryan White
  • Chris Campoli

Keys to the Game

Passion.  That’s all.  60 minutes of passion.  Don’t sit on a lead, don’t get lazy.  Play a full 60 minutes, like you actually care if you win the game.

Erik Cole should have no lack of passion tonight.  Returning to play his former team of 9 seasons should be plenty of fuel for the fire.  And he has been heating up as of late.  Could be a breakout night for the power forward.

My Prediction

Habs 5 – Carolina 1

About Marcus T

Father, Husband, Blogger, A/V Guy and Huge Habs fan.
This entry was posted in sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

